June 16, 2024, 04:08:39 PM

Author Topic: Guitar Riffs  (Read 840 times)

Westenn

• Pilot
    • View Profile
Guitar Riffs
« on: January 30, 2019, 02:43:44 AM »
So, I'm a beginner guitarist and I thought to revisit STP "Meatplow" thinking since I know a little more now than my first attempt at it a couple of years ago, I finally get it. I find it interesting that I'm now able to pick up and learn quickly, Nirvana "Smells Like Teen Spirit", Green Day "Basket Case". I was surprised though with Soundgarden "Outshined" very powerful songs yet "simplistic" in nature. Before, it just seemed so complex. Now when I say, I can play it, it is slow and sloppy but you can tell what I'm attempting to play.  Anyway, I'm saying all of this cuz before when I used to watch these guitarists, I didn't know anything they were doing, now I can look and at least attempt to copy without confusion and how most famous songs out there are simplisticly awesome.

8) :-*
And I Got U 2 Paint the Roses on My Grave

IMJ

• Contributors
  • Sky Captain
    • View Profile
    • Wave1Collectibles
Re: Guitar Riffs
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2019, 02:50:24 AM »
Cool post.  I can definitely appreciate how if you can play guitar that changes your analysis and understanding of what a band or musician is doing in a song. I wish I played guitar at one point in my life, but it's not something I ever pursued basically at all.
STP Shows: 12/12/1996 | 10/12/2001 | 05/17/2008 | 05/22/2008 | 03/20/2010 | 08/20/2010
CheSTP Shows: 04/23/2015
JeffTP Shows: 09/26/2019
Velvet Revolver Shows: 05/19/2004 | 11/21/2004 | 04/29/2005 | 08/13/2005 | 05/10/2007 (w. Slash signed Setlist) | 08/28/2007
Scott Weiland Shows: 05/10/2014 | 11/20/2015

Westenn

• Pilot
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2019, 05:07:43 AM »
I don't think it's ever too late to learn. It's an expensive hobby that's for sure lol.

You know what I notice is people wanting to learn to play bass.